Phoenix, Arizona. Zia. Me=Old School?

8 03 2009

Today, I felt I needed to expand my library of music.

Many people use programs such as iTunes, Rhapsody, etc., but I’m not buying it.  There is something about PHYSICALLY going to a record store that I feel the need for.  Maybe it’s the risk I take by buying an entire album for Zia Purchasejust one song (daredevil, I know ;])?  Or is it the fact that I am actually purchasing a tangible object; not just megabytes of info?  Whatever the case, I enjoy going to my local music store (Zia Record Exchange) and buying an actual album.

I didn’t feel like spending an obscene amount of money, so I gave myself a $20 budget.  I managed to find 3 albums of interest, with a total of 31 songs (beats $.99 per song!).  So far, I am not completely satisfied with my purchase, however, I have not had a chance to listen in depth to every album.  I will have to do a follow up on this to give a final review of my purchase.

Anyways, thinking about this trip spawned a question in my mind:

Am I “OLD SCHOOL” for preferring a “brick and mortar” record shop over these programs?

-Colin Stevens

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 03 2009
John Mijac

This is just a case of meta-taxis, which is an old anthropological term meaning that when a thing loses its value in society it becomes an ornament or a toy. Thus, bows and arrows, horses, easy-bake ovens and designer kitchens for people who never cook. Now, the current rage for such a transformation is albums. No, you are not old school, you are simply participating in nostalgia, the process longing for an illusory past, which turns things once valuable into decorations and playthings. Digital music is better . . .that is if your reason to have it is to use it and listen to it. I grew up with 45’s and even owned a Victrola when I was young, those scratchy, tinny recordings are best left to memory.

8 03 2009
colincs

Very good points. CDs=dust collectors

Leave a Reply

